It’s weigh-in day.
I’m not weighing in.
My dear husband Jason has hid it.
I got on Monday and was crazed by the number. I needed to stop. But as long as it was there I couldn’t resist it. The hold it has and the pull on me.
I feel like I’m going through withdrawal. Yesterday was a bad stomach day and I was curious if it had an impact on the number that would shine on the little digital display. A number made of little lines strung together that help my mood in all their little pixels.
Today I should be logging my weight.
I’m not. Because I’ve broken up with my scale. Or maybe we’re on a break.
Two things have happened this past few days without it sitting there, calling me, raining me... I’ve felt an infinitesimal bit less anxious eating. Eating anything on Tuesday-Thursday usually causes the most anxiety, Monday is a little less that those days, and eating on Friday-Sunday cuasss the last amount, all relative to how close to weigh-in day it is.
Without that measure I’m worried I’ll slide back and balloon. My sensible and kind yet exasperated and worried husband says- eat when your hungry, eat what you want stopping when your satisfied or full, continue to be active, and use your clothes as your guide for now. As long as your clothes stay fitting comfortably your doing fine.
And I’m continuing to try and not track every bite- fruit and veggies.
Also, I’m trying to control my compulsion to start my walking for the day at 4am when I get up and continue it until I go to bed at 10-11pm.
* my old walking routine*
- walking/pacing in my room from 4-5am
- stopped at 5 for my coffee
- walked/paced 5:30-6
- stopped to wake up Joshie and get him breakfast before school (skipped on weekends, no school days)
- more walking until 6:59 to get Joshie ready and into his bus
- more walking either in my room or out and about during the rest of the day, very little sitting or stopping. I got really good at reading and walking. In the cold or wet I was mall walking, since getting Charlie I do a lot of dog walking.
I’ve for the past week as of today been getting my steps in without the crazy feeling early morning and late night walking around the room. My body is I think grateful. I was sore and achy all the damn time but couldn’t stop. It’s not been easy, I feel lazy and bad and it’s an itch I can’t scratch, this desire to be walking even right now (it’s 5:13am).
I have also stopped trying to know every single (and I mean every single) calorie I eat and then walking off as soon as I am done until I have burned between 2-4 times the calories eaten. Yes for exmaple, I was weighing my salad veggies and then walking after lunch 2-4 times the calories consumed.
I have also stopped trying to know every single (and I mean every single) calorie I eat and then walking off as soon as I am done until I have burned between 2-4 times the calories eaten. Yes for exmaple, I was weighing my salad veggies and then walking after lunch 2-4 times the calories consumed.
But part of me feels it’s been too many changes at once. Another part feels like I’m regaining control and is terrified but relieved. And yet another part yells at me to stop eating and get moving because I’m fat and lazy and proving it with each bite and each craving/want of something treat like and each minute spent sitting.
But I’m pushing on. We will see I guess.
Baby steps. Baby steps.







